Hanging out with Alpha Kappa Alpha

Last night I attended a business mixer with Upsilon Alpha Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. I had a blast. It is always good to meet other professionals in different fields. Mingling with the chapter and other vendors gave me a chance to tell them what I do, and how I can help them and their loves ones with their health. They were whispering about me all night because I had a x-ray of a woman in high heels, and of course I got their attention.

After explaining to them that I cannot get them to stop wearing high heels, but it is my responsibility as a doctor to show them what prolonged wearing of high heels can do to your ankles, joints in your feet and the low back. That brought out fun conversation. I know it is a “rite of passage” into womanhood, and the majority of women have probably been wearing heels since they were in their teens.

So I gave out lots of cards, and I exchanged cards. The event was very organized and fun. I look forward to working with the chapter again.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Post

Leave a Reply

